SHEFFIELD VS. SPITZ, THE UNHEARD MUSIC

Unknown

http://www.amazon.com/Twee-Gentle-Revolution-Television-Fashion/dp/0062213040

Rob Sheffield interviewed me for the Twee Amazon.com page (above)

It got cut a bit for space. These things happen. Here’s what you missed, the outtakes and odds and sods if you will:


6. How twee are you feeling today, on a scale of 1 to 10 where 1 is “Lemmy with a hangover” and 10 is “an all-koala Beat Happening cover band”?

I’d say about six months out of filing my final draft I’m about a 5. As a Libra I strive for balance. I’m wearing a stained Circle Jerks t shirt while watching a Wholphin DVD, belly full of Taco Bell.

7. What is the twee-est song in all of music?

I exclude the Smiths, Belle and Sebastian and They Might Be Giants whenever I address this because they tend to dominate the field (the Tweetles if you will). I would say it’s “Linus and Lucy” by the Vince Guaraldi Trio. But in the British anorak and Jean Seberg hair, c-86 ish sense, I’ve been digging a lot of Felt lately. “Sunlight Bathed in the Golden Glow.” And Steve Martin and Bernadette Peters’ version of “Tonight You Belong To Me.”

Leave a Reply

